Pacific Grove Public Library

Library Databases

Internet Reference Desk

You can use our databases from wherever you are! All you need are: a computer with Internet access, and a Pacific Grove Public Library card. Click on the general topic you’re interested in, or scroll down to browse through the entire list.

Health Books and Literature
Business History
General Reference Science

Magazines & Newspapers

Academic OneFile
Full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Authoritative and comprehensive for academic research.
General OneFile
Millions of magazine articles and images on a wide range of topics. Good database for general research.
Full Text Newspapers
Complete articles from hundreds of newspapers, including The N Y Times, San Francisco Chronicle, and Monterey Herald.
Informe
Uno collecion de revistas hispanicas con textos completos. Magazines articles in Spanish.

General Reference

Biography in Context
Biographical information and articles on contemporary and historical figures.
Gale Directory Library
Online editions of The Encyclopedia of Associations and
The National Directory of Nonprofit Organizations
.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
E-books, selected for personal use and school assignments, on medicine, fashion, food, and scholarships. Featured titles include: Grzimek’s Animal Life Encyclopedia; Countries and Their Cultures; The Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine; Scholarships, Fellowships and Loans.
Student Resources in Context
Thousands of documents specifically selected for student research projects. Great for middle and high school assignments.
Kids InfoBits
Easy-to-understand full-text articles from magazines, newspapers and reference books. Designed for elementary school students.
Books and Authors
Thousands of read-alikes, award winners, and “Librarian’s Favorites” lists.
Book Index with Reviews
A comprehensive database that provides information on over 4 million book titles, 500,000 music CD titles & 200,000 DVD titles.
Literature Resource Center
Biographical information and critical analyses of historical and contemporary authors.
Novelist
A guide to fiction for all ages. Search by author, title or series. Browse by subject, awards or read-alikes. An easy way to find books similar to others you’ve enjoyed.
NoveList K-8
A guide to fiction for young people. Search by author, title or series. Browse by award winners, “if-you-like….” or “recommended reads.”

Business

Business and Company Resource Center
Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information. It includes company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, chronologies and periodical articles.
Reference USA
Detailed information on large and small U. S. businesses. Telephone directory information on more than 120 million U.S. households.
Small Business Resource Center
Use this database to learn how to start, finance or manage your small business. Resources include small business plans, how to guides and recommended websites.
Health and Wellness Resource Center
Locate information from a wide variety of health and medical topics, compiled from medical reference books and directories, journals, and newspapers. (The material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.)

History

U.S. History in Context
This database covers events, individuals, themes and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial to the present. Access to over 4,000 historical documents (primary resources), as well as articles from 30+ reference titles and 110 full-text journals.
World History in Context
A comprehensive collection of full-text articles from award-winning scholarly publications, primary sources, images, maps and charts. It provides expansive chronological and geographical research materials for the study of world history.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
A one-stop source for information on today’s hottest social issues. Features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics and links to websites.

Science

Science in Context
This database reflects U.S. curriculum trends and focuses on key concepts taught in high school classrooms such as earth science, life science, physical science, space science, technology and much more.